Scales for shapes, aka glyphs

scale_shape maps discrete variables to six easily discernible shapes. If you have more than six levels, you will get a warning message, and the seventh and subsequence levels will not appear on the plot. Use scale_shape_manual to supply your own values. You can not map a continuous variable to shape.

scale_shape(..., solid = TRUE)
common discrete scale parameters: name, breaks, labels, na.value, limits and guide. See discrete_scale for more details
Should the shapes be solid, TRUE, or hollow, FALSE?
  • scale_shape
  • scale_shape_discrete
  • scale_shape_continuous
library(ggplot2) dsmall <- diamonds[sample(nrow(diamonds), 100), ] (d <- ggplot(dsmall, aes(carat, price)) + geom_point(aes(shape = cut))) d + scale_shape(solid = TRUE) # the default d + scale_shape(solid = FALSE) d + scale_shape(name = "Cut of diamond") # To change order of levels, change order of # underlying factor levels(dsmall$cut) <- c("Fair", "Good", "Very Good", "Premium", "Ideal") # Need to recreate plot to pick up new data ggplot(dsmall, aes(price, carat)) + geom_point(aes(shape = cut)) # Show a list of available shapes df_shapes <- data.frame(shape = 0:24) ggplot(df_shapes, aes(0, 0, shape = shape)) + geom_point(aes(shape = shape), size = 5, fill = 'red') + scale_shape_identity() + facet_wrap(~shape) + theme_void()
Documentation reproduced from package ggplot2, version 2.2.1, License: GPL-2 | file LICENSE

Community examples

Looks like there are no examples yet.